sketch · the daily post

Finding my Beats

There are not many things that give me as much pleasure as dancing. My parents enrolled me in ballet classes when I was nine.  I thought my dancing skills were decent but not teacher.  She said I just wasn’t graceful enough.  I would not quit. Nothing cements my determination like a naysayer. I wasn’t the greatest dancer but I enjoyed it immensely. Then about three years ago I discovered Afro-beats. A genre of music that has a beat that is undeniably rhythmic and contagious. My whole being succumbed to the movement, it was almost spiritual. I still feel this way when I hear this music my body moves almost instinctively. Now I know I wasn’t a bad dancer, I just hadn’t found my beats.

symphony

 

 

prompts – dancing

10 thoughts on “Finding my Beats

Leave a Reply

